Much Belated Update…

Greetings everyone, so sorry for this much belated update. Following the loss of our baby, my health became an issue. I have a rare liver disease called Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis. PSC is an auto-immune disease that is chronic and progressive. Among other things, it typically causes a great deal of physical pain and various gastrointestinal issues. Additionally, I have been warned by physicians since I was diagnosed, that many with PSC eventually develop depressive conditions.

Such is the case now. The recent loss we have suffered seems to have triggered what has been called a Mood Disorder Due to General Medical Condition. The disorder is depression.

When I first felt concern over my emotional state, I spoke with the elders of the church. I wanted to to be aware of the possibility I was becoming depressed shortly after we returned from Hawaii. Further, I contacted my immediate supervisors in Village Missions. We agreed that I should see a physician as well as a therapist to get some professional opinions. The opinions were that the disease has progressed to the point where I can experience bouts of melancholy. The recommendation was to try an anti-depressant. The drug in question had been successfully used to treat both depression and pain in PSC patients.

After more discussion with the elders and VM representatives, I decided to take the medication. The warning given was that it could take 8 weeks to get full effect. As of this blog post, I am past the 8 weeks and feel much better. The medication has dramatically improved the pain associated with the disease. Even more, it has reset my sleep cycle. Whereas I dealt with insomnia from the PSC for several years, I am getting good and restful sleep.

I recently had a follow up with the physician which showed great improvement. We agreed to that I would remain on the medication for some time due especially to the amazing reduction in pain.

On one Sunday, I shared the situation with the entire church. I have also shared it with many in the community. I have received an incredible amount of support and encouragement from many people. I visited a friend yesterday that I had not seen for almost a month and he was amazed at the obvious improvement. So I am well and well cared for. I am including the audio of the presentation to the church concerning the situation. I am very willing to answer questions and I relish the prayers of all our family, friends, and supporters. You all have done so much for which I thank you and appreciate what you continue to do for us as well.

http://sermon.net/download.php?c=23796-count_audio_download-2423528

or download the audio by clicking the link below
Click Here


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

