January 2016

23D26

I intended to post an update last week.  Unfortunately, a family, the fire department, and the entire community entered a period of grief and the update was postponed.

Monday January 11th, 2016, a believer was promoted into heaven.  He was a young man and a fellow firefighter and medic.  He was saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ.  He comes from a family of believers.  The Christian community has experienced hope and joy even in a time of sorrow knowing that we will see this young man again.

Please be in prayer for the Nolywaika family in their season of grief.  Also, pray for the fire department.  We lost a friend and colleague.  We also were the first responders to the motor vehicle collision that resulted in his death.  I was one of the medics that had the privilege of providing care for him on the scene.

The funeral was a declaration of his personal faith and an invitation to all present to find comfort in Christ.  For believers, we were reminded of our blessed hope and comfort in Christ.  The unbelievers were presented with the Gospel and the hope for all sinners who come to know Christ as Savior.

Now that I have shared our grief and comfort, a few updates from the family:

Rebecca:

Whew! The Christmas season sure is busy. Like everywhere I suppose. We enjoyed Christmas morning at home and dinner with our church family. The big kids were in a school concert that was really well done. The babies had the best Christmas they can remember. 😊 The chickens are still  laying  eggs, and staying toasty with the coop about 40° most of the time. We have been enjoying some time outside with the warmer temperatures. William has been asking the names of things he doesn’t know like kitchen tongs. Emily is learning to read.

Aerin:

I had a really nice Christmas break! I stayed with a friend for a week and had a lot of fun. I got sick in Christmas though  😦 I got some cool new clothes and some money! I’m glad I got a break, but I’m glad to go back to school and see my friends again.

Ethan:

This month school started again and with it I had two finals come in that I have to complete. One of them I already have and the other I’m going to finish sometime this week. The test I finished was so short it had fewer questions than the standard course review paper that comes with every test. I was also sick a few days before school started which was a very unhappy time for me. Luckily I seem to have gotten better with no inter-family contamination.

Leave a Reply

